You are here

West ‘B’ goes after Rotary title

Sunday, March 25, 2012


Perrenial champion West ‘B’ Zone looks set to continue their domination of the Port of Spain and Environs Rotary Games. The athletes from the  zone excelled at the recent 25th Anniversary of the Milo Games and are adamant that the title will be kept in the West when the 22nd Rotary Games comes off at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, tomorrow, at 9 a.m with 76 primary schools taking part. This year’s Games are titled ‘Hat-trick In The Making’. It will also mark 21 years of domination at the National Primary Schools Track and Field Championships for the Port-of-Spain and Environs District. The West “B” zone is powered by Diamond Vale Government, Patna River Estate, Diego Martin Government and Diego Martin Boys’ RC. Arch-rivals West “A” will be aiming to hold on to the No 1 spot.
The West “A” athletes scored their fifth win at Games in 2009 and will be pinning hopes on Carenage Girls’, as well as Carenage Boys’, Maraval RC and St Michael’s School for Boys in an effort to better West “B.” West “B” has lifted the title on 16 occasions in the last 22 years. Joanna Rogers (North), Kershel McIntyre (Central) and Gabriella Alphonso (West) are expected to hold the spotlight in the Under-15 Girls’ category, while the clash of Jonah Gordon  (West) and Rashaun Murphy (Central) in the Boys’ category may be worth travelling miles to see. Eyes will also be focused on Isiah Gemon (West), in the Under 9 boys category. Junior World Champion Jehue Gordon is expected to take the salute along with president of the NAAA, Ephraim Serrette. Approximately 7,000 children are expected to attend and music will be supplied by the Fire Service Band. There will be 60 events. Judges for the March Past are Karryl Johnson-Ulerie, Carlton Arrindel and Ian McCarthy.