You are here

No decision yet in Moruga

Saturday, November 2, 2013

No councillor for the Moruga electoral district was sworn in when the councillors of Princes Town Regional Corporation took their oath of office yesterday. A third recount for that seat was expected to be done yesterday, said Princes Town MP Nela Khan. Speaking with reporters after the swearing-in ceremony at the UNC-controlled corporation, Khan said: “I was told there is a recount happening today in Port-of-Spain.” She could not understand why the matter has not been settled.



“For some reason there is simply something I just don’t understand. Today you have one party winning, tomorrow you have another party and you have recount, recount, recount and I hope pretty soon this will be put to rest,” she added. Neither PNM candidate Kenwyn Williams nor UNC candidate Phillip Gonzales were at the ceremony. Williams was first declared the winner on the night of the local government elections on October 21. However, the next day Gonzales was told he had won.


When a recount was done the next day, Williams was told he won by 40 votes. However, last Saturday the EBC did a second recount and declared Gonzales the winner. The PNM then requested a third recount. The UNC won six seats, PNM two seats and the Moruga seat is still undecided. 


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.