You are here

Marlene Davis

Sunday, January 12, 2014
As I started these columns, so am I ending, with will and would. “The wheel has come full circle,” to quote Shakespeare.
Sunday, December 29, 2013
As we procede into the new millenium its difficult to avoid thinking about how the world is changing. In the 1980’s few people had even seen a computer, let alone owned one.
Sunday, December 22, 2013
The first five terms belong in a group, as they relate to the structure of a literary work.
Sunday, December 15, 2013
Besides the problems with pronouns, there are some difficulties with some verbs, eg to lie/to lay
Sunday, December 8, 2013
Last week, I dealt with the sentences.
Sunday, December 1, 2013
AGREEMENT A sentence is composed of (a) a subject—who or what (b) a predicate or verb (c) an object. It is important that the subject and predicate (or verb) agree in number: singular or plural.
Sunday, November 24, 2013
Why is spelling important in documents of all kinds?
Sunday, November 17, 2013
Homo in Greek means same; nyms means names. So homonyms means “same names.”
Sunday, November 10, 2013
Malapropisms can be very amusing to listeners, though possibly embarrassing to those who say them and/or learn afterwards of their mistake.
Sunday, November 3, 2013
I would like to help in correcting certain commonly mispronounced words.

Pages